The Appalachian Experience

Edited by Barry M. Buxton

Proceedings of the Sixth Annual Appalachian Studies Conference

The Appalachian Experience

262 pp., 6 x 9, 2 figs., 16 tables, notes

  • Paperback ISBN: 978-1-4696-3671-9
    Published: January 1983

Buy this Book

This title is not eligible for UNC Press promotional pricing.

To purchase online via an independent bookstore, visit

Distributed for Appalachian State University

The proceedings from the 1983 Appalachian Studies Conference includes contributions by Melinda B. Wagner, Allen Batteau and Archie Green; William Philliber; Susan Emley Keefe; Loyal Jones; Richard Drake; John H. Mongle; Michael Henson; Nancy Carol Joyner; Sally Ward Maggard; Phillip A. Grant, Jr.; Phillip J. Obermiller and Robert Oldendick; John L. Bell, Jr.; Russell D. Parker; George B. Bay; Howard Dorgan; James M. Gifford; Jean Haskell Speer; Stanley Taylor and Arthur J. Cox; Erin J. Olson; William H. Tallmadge; Marcia F. Barron and John G. McNutt; Edgar Bingham; Thomas R. Shannon; Rosemary Carucci Goss; Barbara Matz; Myra jones; Judy Martin; George Ella Lyon; and Nellie McNeil and Joyce Squibb.

About the Author

Barry M. Buxton has been a teacher, researcher, publisher, editor, and community leader with extensive international experience. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska. Currently Buxton serves as the president of Lees-McRae College. Prior to his tenure at Lees-McRae, he served as the Vice President of Special Projects at the Savannah College of Art and Design. Buxton has also served as president of various science and history museums in North Carolina, Texas, and Georgia. During the 1980s, he served as Executive Director of the sixteen-member Appalachian Consortium Press.
For more information about Barry M. Buxton, visit the Author Page.