Advancement Council

Give Now

UNC Press Advancement Council 2024

The UNC Press Advancement Council furthers the Press’s mission by strengthening the Press’s financial resources, soliciting and receiving financial contributions, raising the profile of the Press, and advocating for the Press with various constituencies.

The Advancement Council of the UNC Press is a body of 12 to 20 members, appointed by the UNC Press Director in consultation with the Chair of the UNC Press Board of Governors, the Chair of the UNC Press Advancement Council, and the Press Director of Development. The Chair of the UNC Press Board of Governors and one member of the UNC Press Board of Governors serve ex officio.

Appointed members of the Advancement Council serve for a term of three years and may be reappointed for one additional term. Responsibilities include attending twice-a-year Council meetings in addition to their work on behalf of the Press throughout the year.


Kirk Brown, Chair
Fletcher, NC

Orage Quarles, Vice Chair
Raleigh, NC

John Blythe
Chapel Hill, NC

Betsy Brown
Manteo, NC

Jon Buchan
Charlotte, NC

Elizabeth Kostova
Asheville, NC

Sherrill Lybrook
Belvedere Tiburon, CA

Bill Massey
Manteo, NC

Joe McCall
Washington, DC

Ray Owens
Charlotte, NC

Annette Porter
Winston-Salem, NC

Bill Porter
Winston-Salem, NC

Liza Roberts
Raleigh, NC

Susan Stern
Wilmington, NC

Ex-Officio, voting

Lisa Levenstein
Chapel Hill, NC

Carlton Wilson
Durham, NC

Ex-Officio, non-voting

John Sherer
Spangler Family Director, UNC Press

Joanna Ruth Marsland
Director of Development, UNC Press